top of page

Reflections as a growing researcher

Today I gave my department seminar presentation; the annual 20-minute research update in front of over 90 attendees. It went well, with engaging questions, few word stumbles, and a certain ebb and flow, as if I were having a casual conversation with some peers. It left me reminiscing on how my seminar went just one year prior.


Last year, I had written a script for my talk and read it aloud without glancing up at the audience. I had been so nervous and afraid I wouldn't appear educated on my research topic. That I would fumble and everyone would know just how much of a fraud I was. It's a common experience, the demonized ~imposter syndrome~ that wreaks havoc on many people. Studies have reported that 70% of the general public have felt the imposter syndrome, with the number increasing within higher education. With increased competition to "publish or perish", overly self-critical perfectionists find themselves stuck feeling like they don't measure up to their position. It can be hard to feel validated in an environment that minimizes successes but hammers failures.


I have been super fortunate to find myself in a lab that is supportive and patient, understanding that I am human and have other things to deal with on top of the never-ending research. Throughout this past year, I have taken large leaps a n only as a researcher but more importantly as a growing mid-twenties woman in STEM. I have learned to be confident in my project, after all, it is MINE. I have learned to pursue things that truly interest me, even if they sometimes take time away from the lab. I have learned to take ownership of my work and feel accomplished where I am in my Ph.D. journey. Have I written a manuscript? No, but that's okay! Life has been chaotic and filled with constant adjustments. I bet nearly everyone that is pursuing a degree feels behind given the current state of the world.


We should all give ourselves more grace and take pride in where we are now.


49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Getting Scooped...

In the world of academia, the stakes are high when researching a hot topic. Everyone knows this, yet we pursue the science anyways. Being a 3rd year Ph.D. student, I feel the pressure to have a clear

The Ph.D. during "unprecedented times"

Something I don't feel is talked about enough is the disrupted graduate student education and experience due to the ongoing pandemic. I know every student feels they are missing out on big moments and

Oh no...Omicron!

Yet again, Covid-19 wants to create mayhem for holiday travelers, me included. Mutating an astounding 60 proteins compared to the original Wuhan variant, 39 of which affect the spike protein of the vi

bottom of page